RSS

Memories of the Past

21 Aug

Have you ever for a second caught  a whiff of a very familiar yet faint smell that triggered an inner memory of a distant past; a past that you cannot identify? As I sit here on my front porch in my rocking chair, I was reminded of a past that I cannot put my finger on. I do not know of when or where my mind was carrying me, but for what seemed like an eternity my mind was elsewhere.

I enjoy those feelings of the past until the moment that I realize I have no clue of what past place or time that I was brought back to. I rack my brain over and over again trying to figure out where I remember the smell from that triggered this feeling. It had to be a place in time where I was happy and enjoying myself. Sometimes I can remember, but for the most part I cannot recall.

The sad part is that when I snap back to reality I am left with an empty feeling; a feeling of loneliness and despair. I am unsure of why I cannot shake it most of the time. Maybe it is my supressed memories coming through to an extent of triggering these, but not enough for me to recollect the exact time and location for the most part. Maybe it is just psychological.

Does anyone else have these feelings and how do they make you feel?

-Frawg

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Memories of the Past

  1. midaevalmaiden

    August 22, 2011 at 23:49

    Those memories of which you smell but can’t quite place.. if you keep searching, then over time, they might be able to break through the barriers and you’l know them once again. There part of what makes you ,you and thats important. Psychological or not. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
My Life in New York

What it's like to live in the greatest city in the world

Jason "Mayhem" Miller

adventurer of earth

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Brian Rush

A site for books, Pagan and other open minded spirituality, general creativity and cantankerousness, not necessarily in that order.

Alberto Monnar

Composer, Saxophonist, Pianist, Vocalist

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

Humbled Pie

Southern Livin' and Travelin', mostly photographed with some Home Cookin' and only slightly embellished Storytellin'

hibsftw

Just another WordPress.com site

A Healthy Bean

Striving to live healthily and on a tight budget!

The Midaeval Maiden

Its not about the cat

The Insanity Aquarium

Your prescription to horror flash fiction.

heelsandhome

A blog about my day to day life and all the fabulous things in it

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

